Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
1

Autumnal Days and Bouquets

A cozy fall update with cats, gardening, and writing!
1

Down on the earth the blue sky seemed something that arched over you, but here it seemed something that held you in its arms. It was as though a mother in a blue cloak had bent and picked her up. She remembered that one of the stars in the sky was a great lady, Virgo the Sign of the Virgin. They called the Mother of God the Virgin Mary, and she wore a blue cloak. If only [Tabitha] had been born in the late Summer or the early Autumn, when the mornings are clothed in a blue haze like the trailing hem of a blue veil, she might now have seen the face of the Mother.

When I read Elizabeth Goudge’s The Valley of Song earlier this year, her evocative comparison of a September sky to Mary’s cloak stood out to me, and I’ve been thinking of it many times this month as I’ve enjoyed some misty mornings and crisp, blue sky days in my garden.

My September girl figurine watches over the flower arrangements.

This gardening season as a whole has been a bit of a struggle, but many of my blooms still came through, and I've been so thankful to have so many cheerful, colorful dahlias and sunflowers to fill my flower vases. Today’s autumnal upload includes a garden update - I wanted to share a round-up of the season before my plants put away their glad rags for the year.

The queen of the jungle napping in the sunshine…

The new vlog also has plenty of cat clips! Cymbeline may have enjoyed many lazy naps this month, but I have tried to be productive with a bit of a fall reset. September seemed like a good time to try to get myself back on track with my writing project, The Book of Cymbeline: A Kitten’s Tale. Cymbeline first appeared in her tree hollow as a blue-eyed apex predator two years ago in September 2021, and the first in the series came out one year ago in September 2022. I’m now working on the third installment, which I hope to have out by November.

Gorgeous hues of pink and plum on my autumn joy sedum.

As I mentioned in the video, I’ve decided not to do the Boo to You Readathon again this year. We are reading The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde for our book club in October, so if you’re not yet on my book club email list and would like to join our discussion for some Master Gracey, Haunted Mansion library vibes, feel free to send me an email at emma@bookishprincess.com.

It’s a little sad to set Boo to You aside, but it’s had a good run over the past five years. Last year’s mansion wrap-up was especially fun! Who knows, maybe I’ll host the readathon again in the future, but lately I’ve been trying to move The Book of Cymbeline III to the top of my priority list.

How has your September been going? Let me know down in the comments, and stay tuned for a new monthly reading wrap-up on Monday!

Thanks for reading! To receive new posts by email and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

1 Comment
Bookish Princess
Bookish Princess
Authors
Emma Stewart